RSS

Dreams coming true…

31 May

Today Duncan and I committed to be English teachers at the Hebei Baoding Eastern Bilingual School in Baoding City, Hebei Province, China. The Hebei Baoding Eastern Bilingual School is a private full-time boarding school and I believe we will be teaching K-12. We also will be provided a fully furnished apartment with a bike, computer, free Internet, and all utilities paid! Woo!

I am beyond thrilled! I was a bit apprehensive beforehand, but as soon as I got the news, I was simply ecstatic. (I guess that reaction shows how I really feel about this!)

Next, we have to prove we are citizens of good standing, get medical exams, obtain Visas, and find out when, exactly, we are supposed to fly to Shanghai for a week-long orientation before moving on to Baoding…

Recently, I was telling Duncan about how I couldn’t think of any long-standing dreams I’ve held for the future because whenever I decide I’m going to do something, I fixate on it and compulsively obsess over it until it’s either accomplished or it becomes apparent that the idea is going to be impossible. For Duncan, moving to China is truly a dream come true and I am so happy for him that he could experience that feeling of a long-held dream coming true!

Today I realized I really do have a dream I’ve been holding on to since I was young – travelling. Every night when I was young, my family and I would watch nature and travel shows on TV before I went to bed. As I watched those shows, I compiled a list of “Places to Go”, a document I still have. I’ve always said that in my life I want to travel but I never gave it much attention. Perhaps it was because it sounded too cliché or seemed too unrealistic to spend a lot of time planning on it, but for whatever reason, I never paid much attention to my dream of lifelong traveling. At one point, I think I even talked myself out of traveling because of bad experiences with planes, seasickness, and luggage complications.

But as I was thinking about the commitment to China we’ve just made, I realized that this is a dream coming true for me too! China was never on my original list, but I couldn’t be more excited about starting this next chapter of my life in a new culture that seems so rich and inviting to personal growth. At 20 years old, just out of college, I am moving across the world to travel and experience the world and I couldn’t be happier!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Dreams coming true…

  1. Deborah Belcher

    May 31, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    This is The Best, Alyssa! Awakening a sleeping dream when you’re 20 rather than 50 – yay – I say make it a lifestyle! Thrive on! XO – Deborah

     

Leave a Reply

 
Lewis and Clark and Mark

Travel. Photography. People. Stories.

CARDBOARD BOX OFFICE

A world of film, a house of stuff.

Alyssa in China

Ramblings on Life in China

backpackerlee

Backpacking (and eating) my way around the world!

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

中国 Jaunt

One girl's quest to teach some kids and eat a lot of rice

Asheville NC Mountain Travel Tips

Go to www.RomanticAsheville.com for the most up-to-date info!

Brevard Tiny House

Tiny Houses, Big Dreams!

THE WORD

Where one word inspires many.

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

xballerina's Blog

Inspiration for the artist and athlete in everyone: the art of being human.

Duncan's Year in Pictures

A 365 Photo Challenge

Pointe Shoe Brands

Pointe Shoe Brands From All Over The World

Life in Russia

The Bridge between two countries

waltzing on water

dancing through life while sailing the high seas

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

The SWC Chronicles

Living, Laughing, and loving writing down the moments life is full of

JourneyBird

Whet your wanderlust.

